Rutgers GSAPP Search
GSAPP Faculty Highlights

September 2017

A revised edition of Louis Sass’s book, Madness and Modernism: Insanity in the Light of Modern Art, Literature, and Thought, has just been published by Oxford University Press.

When it first appeared, 25 years ago, Madness and Modernism was widely reviewed, from the New York Times Book Review and Wall Street Journal to the American Journal of Psychiatry and Contemporary Psychology.  In the Washington Post Book World, neurologist Richard Restak wrote: “This marvelous book [is] an inspired documentation of the interrelationships of modernism, schizophrenia, and our current cultural life.” Recently, the psychiatrist and literary scholar Iain McGilchrist (author of The Master and his Emissary) described it as “without question the most fascinating and compelling account of the nature and meaning of schizophrenia ever written,” also as “beautifully written and a joy to read…a true masterpiece.”

A special session will be devoted to Madness and Modernism, Revised Edition at the convention of the International Conference on Psychiatry and Philosophy in Madrid in November.  In coming months, themes from the book will also be featured at conferences at the University of Bordeaux (France), University of Liège (Belgium), and University of Paris.

Dr. Todd Glover and Dr. Linda Reddy were awarded a new grant with Arizona State University. 
Technology-Support Behavioral Support Coaching: Project Select-Support-Succeed (S3)
Office of Special Education Programs – Stepping-Up Technology Implementation Competition, CFDA No. 84.327S ($2,498,442; PIs: Kurz, Glover, Reddy & Elliott)

July 2017               
Dr. Linda Reddy was awarded an International Research Travel award to conduct research with faculty at U of Patras in Greece
Erasmus+  Inter-Institutional Agreement Award 2016-2018
Faculty Travel Award for Research Collaboration
Collaborator: Dr. Maria Poulou, University of Patras, Greece

May 2017

Dr. Linda Reddy and Dr. Todd Glover were awarded a grant...
Efficacy of Paraprofessional Behavior Support Coaching for Elementary School
Students with Externalizing Behavior Disorders. US DOE, Institute for Education Sciences Goal 3 (Efficacy and Replication) CFDA No. 84.324A (R324A170069 Role PI $3,299,279; Co-PI Todd Glover)

April 2016

Dr. Tim Cleary received a grant which represents a multi-site, international collaboration involving four universities in the US and three outside the US.
Title: Developing assessment tools to better understand the mechanisms of clinical reasoning in military medical simulation
Total amount: $1.5million
Subcontract to Rutgers: $120,000
Short summary: This three year project will develop and refine a multi-source, multi-method assessment approach designed to better our understanding of the influences on physician’s decision -making during clinical reasoning in simulation activities. Further, across a series of studies conducted over three years, a series of experimental studies will be conducted to examine the effects of context and feedback across a host of performance and behavioral outcomes.

Dr. Anne Gregory received a grant from the Brooklyn Community Foundation in the amount of $118,972. She will do an evaluation of restorative approaches to discipline in four Brooklyn middle and high schools. Specifically, she will conduct formative evaluations in four schools and offer data-based feedback to strengthen implementation of their restorative justice programming over the next years. She will also conduct summative evaluations in each school to identify reduced disparities in perceived school climate, discipline referrals, and suspensions.

Dr. Anne Gregory received a research award from the William T. Grant Foundation in the amount of $180,000. The research leverages existing data to cost-effectively examine the extent to which the racial equity effects of an instructional coaching program “ripple” beyond a focal classroom to have a broader impact on equity in school discipline. My Teaching Partner-Secondary (MTP-S) is the first program shown to eliminate the black-white discipline gap in intervention classrooms. The new research will examine whether the “localized” change spread to the other classrooms taught by MTP-S teachers. If widespread and sustained changes are found, it would suggest MTP-S alters the “system,” thereby disrupting pernicious and persistent racial disparities in discipline.