Rutgers GSAPP Search
GSAPP Events

Commencement, May 19th, 2013

The 247th Rutgers University Commencement was held in the Rutgers University High Point Solutions Stadium on Sunday, May 19th. Rutgers President Robert L. Barchi conferred degrees on 14,302 graduates. The Honorable Virginia Long, a retired associate justice of the New Jersey Supreme Court, was this year's keynote speaker. Long is an alumna of Rutgers Law School-Newark’s Class of 1966, and has who blazed a trail for women in law.

GSAPP held its thirty-eighth Convocation earlier that morning at the Rutgers Visitor Center on Busch Campus.

Dean Stanley Messer presented The Robert D. Weitz Award to Jenny Jones (School). This award is presented to the graduating student whose energy, spirit, and enthusiasm evidences a dedication and willingness to work in the interests of professional psychology and the people it serves.

Dr. Susan Forman writes that Jennifer “has shown great leadership skills in her interactions with her fellow graduate students and with the faculty. She consistently volunteered to lead, and participate in, program activities that involve students. She has served as our representative to the APA Division 16 Student Association of School Psychologists and was instrumental in starting the Rutgers student chapter of the National Association of School Psychologists.”

Anne Gregory writes: “Jennifer has a striking ability to connect with others, a strong commitment to the wellbeing of historically disenfranchised groups, and the curiosity and critical mindedness essential for practitioner-scientists. Her leadership as an up-and-coming professional in the field has been recognized by recent awards, namely, the New Jersey Psychological Association Community Award and the Executive Women of new Jersey Merit Scholarship. She was recently notified that she was selected for a highly competitive, two-year Postdoctoral Fellowship Program in Child and Adolescent Traumatic Stress at Beth Israel Medical Center and St. Luke’s - Roosevelt Hospitals in NYC.
Zandberg The Cyril Franks Award was presented to Laurie Zandberg (Clinical). This award is presented to the graduating student whose doctoral dissertation evidences outstanding scholarship and reflects GSAPP’s standard of excellence. Laurie’s dissertation was titled “Train-The-Trainer: Implementation Of Cognitive Behavioral Guided Self- Help For Eating Disorders In A University Setting.” Laurie’s research study served as a model for the training of staff in the counseling center.

To quote Terry Wilson whose written remarks were read by Dean Messer at the GSAPP convocation on May 19: “Perhaps the most remarkable outcome was the following. The counseling center administration subsequently prevailed on me to train their staff in the guided self-help based on cognitive behavior therapy that Laurie had implemented. Last November Laurie received the Graduate Student Research Award at the annual Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies conference. A paper based on her dissertation has recently been published in an important international journal on eating disorders. For all of these reasons Laurie is richly deserving of the Cyril M. Franks award.”

Loading slideshow ...

The graduates were welcomed into the GSAPP Alumni Association by Peter DeNigris, Alumni Association President.

Watch Erin Herman, School Psychology Program Graduate, speak about her experience at GSAPP.

Congratulations to all our graduates!

View the full list of Graduates

2013 graduates